National Honor Society inducts new members

Su Valley Junior and Senior High School held their annual National Honor Society induction ceremony this week. 

Five students were selected to be inducted – Zena DeLoach, Jeannie Jurasek, Morgan Michels, Sierra O’Connor and Dominuque Scruggs.  All girls are 10th graders.  Jeannie wasn’t present at the ceremony, but remains on the selection list.

According to MJ Corso, honor society advisor, the selection is normally a secret up until the day it occurs.  This past Monday morning, the inductees and those graduating, met at 6:30 for a festive breakfast at the Talkeetna Roadhouse.

The ceremony at the high school included the color guard of Girl Scout group 293 and music by the steel drum group that is headed to state competition.  A number of people spoke – Paxson Matthews as President of the society was the leader of the induction ceremony.

Corso said this year’s group, 16 members total, is bigger than ever.  However, the society has a number of graduating seniors this year and will drop back to 10 members next year.

The national honor society gets involved with events, and organizations, from the Denali Arts Council to the annual easter egg hunt.  The society is hoping to have a fundraiser this spring in the form of a car wash to be held at the high school when the weather allows.

MJ Corso listed the members (not in order): Paxson Matthews, Laura Stahl, Jennifer Crosby, Cory Ambrose, Sierra O’Connor, Zena DeLoach, Dominuque Scruggs, Morgan Michels, Ethan Reinhart, Skyler Hamler, Madison Maynard, Taylor Asher, Michael Jurasek, Lee Blocynziski, Teslin Matthews

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *