KTNA Studio – Dave Totten, artist

Photo by Deb Wessler

Photo by Dora Miller

KTNA Studio

KTNA On Air Studio, Jan 2013

Photo by Deb Wessler

Photo by James Trump

Winter Black-capped Chickadee

winter chickadee

Photo by Robin Song

Fish Lake morning

Fish Lake morning

photo: Robin Song


Public Notice: Extension of comment period Jonesville Coal Mining Permit

by KTNA Staff ~ October 11th, 2010

At the request of the local community, the Department of Natural Resources has extended the public comment period for the renewal of the Jonesville Coal Mining Permit Renewal. The deadline to submit written comment closes at 5:00PM on Tuesday, October 19, 2010.
An application for the renewal of the Jonesville Coal Mine Permit (U-0201) has been filed with the State of Alaska, Department of Natural Resources, Division of Mining, Land and Water (DMLW), on December 9, 2009, from Ranger Alaska, LLC, 110 N. Rubey Dr. Suite 201, Golden Colorado, 80403.
The Jonesville Coal Mine is located in the Matanuska Valley approximately 11 miles northeast of Palmer, Alaska. The mining area is approximately 2 miles northwest of Sutton, Alaska near the southeast portion of Wishbone Hill. The mining area can be found on the USGS Anchorage C6 quad map. The mining permit area is in Township 19N Range 3E Sections 9, 16, 17, 19, 20, and 21, Seward Meridian.
This request is to renew the existing permit for an additional five-year term. There are no changes or modifications to the operation and reclamation plans which have been proposed which would significantly alter the previously approved permit. The originally approved permit met the requirements of AS 27.21 and 11 AAC 90 subject to the stipulations of the original permits.
The permit renewal procedure is part of the Alaska Surface Coal Mining Program (AS 27.21 and 11 AAC 90). Copies of the original permit, transfer and renewal application and the preliminary findings document are available for review at the Alaska Department of Natural Resources, Division of Mining, Land and Water, 550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 920, Anchorage, AK 99501-3577. Inquiries should be sent to: Chuck White, at the Anchorage address listed above, by fax to (907) 269-8930, or by e-mail to chuck [dot] white [at] alaska [dot] gov.
Any person who is or may be adversely affected by the renewal of this permit may file written comments or objections and may include with an objection a request for an informal conference (AS 27.21.140). Comments may be filed by mail, fax, or e-mail at the address above, but must be received by the Department by 5:00 pm, October 19, 2010.

Comments are closed.