Mat-Su Borough Releases Candidates for October Election

With the Borough elections scheduled for October 1st, the Mat-Su Borough has released the list of candidates who will be running, as well as at least one tax issue to be voted on.  Two Borough Assembly seats and the School Board seats are up for election this year.

In the Borough Assembly, new representatives will be chosen for Districts 1 and 2.  District 1 includes part of the City of Palmer, and the communities of Sutton, Lazy Mountain, Butte, and Chickaloon.  The candidates are Doug Glenn and Jim Sykes, both of Palmer.  District 2 includes part of Palmer as well as portions of the Gateway and South Lakes communities.  Candidates for District 2 are Noel Woods and Matthew Beck of Palmer.

Three Mat-Su School Board seats will be voted on this year, but only two are contested.  Seat F candidates include incumbent Neal Lacy of Wasilla and challengers Donna Dearman of Talkeetna, Stephen Jacobson of Wasilla, and Jim Tapley of Sutton.  Seat G candidates are incumbent David Cheezem of Palmer and challenger Ray Michaelson of Palmer.  Seat C is held by current School Board President Susan Pougher (POW-er), and is uncontested.

In addition to the election for the Assembly and School Board, voters in the Mat-Su Borough will be asked to decide whether or not the Borough should implement a tax on alcohol.

Election information, including voting methods and polling sites can be found on the Mat-Su Borough website.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *