Emmila A. Denny scholars announced at DAC meeting

The Emmila A. Denny scholarship winners were announced at the Denali Arts council meeting Monday evening.  Winners of the three hundred dollar scholarships are Tyler Figley, Emily Hartley, Ian Mannix, Denali Morgan and Laura Wright.

Mike Sterling is a co-chair of scholarship committee and said that the decision was very difficult since there were ten applicants this year, an unusually high number for that particular scholarship.  Joe Page, Mary Farina, Sandy Shoulders and Mike Sterling were the four committee members that selected the final five winners.

The Emmila A. Denny scholarship began as a generous donation from Emmila Denny to give art and music students a financial lift and foster and encourage their creative talents.

In other business Monday evening, the council discussed the second year of Dinners- in-the-Home, a fundraising opportunity for the Denali Arts council that invites tourists into local resident’s homes for a home cooked meal and conversation.  The council is recruiting individuals or couples interested in hosting an evening meal for visitors from Alaska Wildland Adventures tours.

The council is also planning a walking tour of downtown Talkeetna next year.  They are hoping to apply for, and receive grants for the historical tour that will highlight Talkeetna’s historic district.

There are currently two vacancies on the Denali Arts Council board of directors.  There are two or three interested individuals.  A vote on those replacements may take place at the June 10th meeting.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *