Plane survivors identified

Alaska State Troopers have released the names of the people who died in a plane crash near Dillingham Monday evening.  The five people killed in the crash are Senator Ted Stevens, 86 of Anchorage; Terry Smith, 62 of Eagle River, Bill Phillips Sr,  48 year old Dana Tindall and 16 year old Corey Tindall of Anchorage.

The four survivors were transported to Providence in Anchorage with varying degrees of injuries.  Willy Phillips, Jr, age 13, ex-NASA chief Sean O’Keefe and his son Kevin, and Jim Morhard of Alexandria, Virginia all survived the crash.

At approximately 7 p.m. Monday evening, the Air Force 11th Rescue Coordination Center received a report that a plane with nine people on board crashed 17 miles northwest of Dillingham.

The Alaska State Troopers, the Rescue Coordination Center, the Coast Guard and National Transportation Safety Board worked in cooperation on the rescue and recovery efforts.  Both the Air National Guard and the US Coast Guard helped transport survivors to Dillingham.  From there they were transported to Anchorage via a Coast Guard C-130.

The downed aircraft is a DeHavilland Otter owned by GCI communications in Anchorage.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *