State certified primary elections

The State Division of Elections has certified the primary election results. Official numbers confirm that Republican candidate Joe Miller defeated incumbent Lisa Murkowski by 2006 votes. The Susitna, Talkeetna and Trapper Creek voting precincts mirror the state-wide results as Miller carried the Republican vote in this area.  On the Democrat’s side for Senator, Sitka mayor Scott McAdams emerged the clear winner by a large margin and was also supported by voters in Talkeetna, Susitna and Trapper Creek over the other Democratic candidates.

In the governor’s race, Parnell took the Republican vote and teamed up with Mead Treadwell as the Republican candidate for lieutenant governor. On the Democrat ticket for Governor is Ethan Berkowitz and Diane Benson. In Talkeetna, Hollis French took the Democrats’ vote for Governor over Berkowitz. In the Alaska House of Representatives race between incumbent Mark Neuman and challenger Stephen Jacobson, Talkeetna, Susitna and Trapper Creek overwhelmingly voted for Neuman. The three areas also voted no on Measure One. The majority of voters in Susitna and Trapper Creek voted “yes” on Measure Two, while Talkeetna’s majority voted “no”.  The measure was regarding mandatory parental notification if a minor is seeking an abortion.

The voter turnout was 26 percent for the Susitna precinct, a little more than 26 percent for Talkeetna and only 17 percent for Trapper Creek.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *