25 Post Offices in Alaska NOT closing as previously announced

Senator Mark Begich’s office confirmed Monday that 25 post offices off the road system will not close.

Last month, the United States Postal Service announced that nearly thirty seven hundred post offices including 36 in Alaska were targeted for closure in order to reduce expenses.

Most of those targeted offices in Alaska were very small post offices, like Skwentna, Shageluk, Anvik and Kobuk. Almost all offices were off the road system and Begich has said those have been taken off the list to be closed.

There are still eleven that are under consideration, including several military base operations as well as Circle, Manley Hot Springs and other remote, but on-the-road system offices.

Begich says there will be another announcement at the end of the week on the other 11 offices on the list.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *