Mat-Su Borough Elections are October 1st

Tuesday, October 1st, is election day in the Mat-Su Borough.

Polling places are open from 7 A-M to 8 P-M .

Polling places are:

Trapper Creek precinct: Trapper Creek Elementary School
Talkeetna precinct: Talkeetna Elementary School
Susitna precinct: Public Safety Building Station 11-2 on the Parks Highway
Willow precinct: Willow Community Center Included in the Borough-wide vote are three school board seats and two ballot propositions.

Susan Pougher of Wasilla is the current President of the Mat-Su School Board, and is running unopposed for Seat C.  Seat F has four candidates, Donna Dearman of Talkeetna, incumbent Neal Lacy of Wasilla, Stephen Jacobson of Wasilla, and Jim Tapley of Sutton.  Two candidates are running for School Board Seat G:  Incumbent David Cheezem of Palmer, and challenger Ray Michaelson of Palmer.

The two ballot propositions are numbered B-1 and B-2.  Proposition B-1 proposes a tax “not to exceed five percent” on alcoholic beverage sales within the Borough.  Proposition B-2 contains a package of road improvement bonds near Borough schools totaling $16.2 million dollars.

Borough Assembly seats for Districts 1 and 2 are also up for election, but are not voted on by residents of the Upper Valley.

Also on Tuesday, the Talkeetna Community Council will elect three new members.  As of the last Council Board meeting, there were three candidates, Katie Writer, Mary Farina, and Iris Vandenham.

Interviews with School Board candidates Donna Dearman, Neal Lacy, David Cheezem, and Ray Michaelson are available here.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *